RESERVATIONS: (313) 882-5299
Facebook
Instagram
Pinterest
Twitter
YouTube
Dirty Dog Jazz Cafe Logo
A Perfectly Tuned Evening Every Time...
Opened in 2008, The Dirty Dog is one of the premiere destinations in the United States for world class Jazz and cuisine. It combines the charm of an English-style pub with intimacy and meticulous attention to detail and hospitality.
THE DIRTY DOG JAZZ CAFE BLOG
The Dirty Dog brings together the musicians and guests in a way that creates a lasting impression and desire to come back.
May 4, 2018

Lundy twitterCom

 

The multi-talented Carmen Lundy / Photo by Twitter.com

 

 

Internationally acclaimed vocalist/composer Carmen Lundy is touring off her latest album and will grace the stage at the Dirty Dog Jazz Café on Friday May 11 and Saturday, May 12. She will be featuring material from her extensive four decades-long career and her latest album “Code Noir”, where she uses her deep evocative voice in this collection of her original songs which she describes as “a song cycle for turbulent times”. “These songs encompass the musical and artistic influences from the African diaspora and its influence on Jazz and other genres – the bossa nova, the blues, swing, funk, the exploration into the avant-garde”, says Carmen. This is her 15th release to date.

 

 

 

CarmenLundyCredit Antonio Porcar

 

Photo by Antonio Porcar

 

 

The “Code Noir”  features an impressive, multi-generational list of artists, including Patrice Rushen, piano, Ben Williams, bass, Jeff Parker, guitar, Kendrick Scott, drums with Ms. Lundy on vocals, keys, guitar, string programming and background vocals.

 

 

Ms. Lundy, who is also the sister of world-renowned Jazz bassist, Curtis Lundy, started playing piano and singing as a young child while growing up in Florida. She is a multi-talented vocalist, composer, arranger and lyricist also plays keyboards, guitar, and much more. A gifted artist she also designs many of her album covers much like Joni Mitchell.  Although she’s often been compared to Nina Simone and Abbey Lincoln, Lundy is a true individualist.

 

 

lundySoulTracksCom

Photo: SoulTracks.com

 

 

Over the years, she has received critical acclaimed from the New York Times, the Village Voice, the Los Angeles Time, the Washington Post, Downbeat and many more. She also received a Bachelor of Music degree from the University of Miami.

 

 

Her compelling live performances are highly expressive partially because she has written and arranged all of the music which makes for a very personal approach. She’s a very special artist you won’t want to miss. She will be doing two sets each night next weekend. For more information and reservations, go to DirtyDogMusic.com or call 313-882-5299.

 

 

 

Detroit Public Radio mainstay, Judy Adams, is a trained pianist, composer and musicologist who hosts a Jazz and contemporary music show on CJAM 99.1FM and guest hosts on WRCJ 90.9FM.

 

 

 

 

Share This Article:

YouTube
Visit the Dirty Dog Jazz Channel on YouTube to view our collection of videos. Watch Now
The Dirty Dog brings together the musicians and guests in a way that creates a lasting impression and desire to come back.
My weekly blog, “Jazz Notes”, has been going strong now for four years! It was back in 2 [..]
  John Coltrane, “Both Directions at Once, the Lost Album” / Impulse (2018)    [..]
  BEING GRITTY   Grit has recently caused a stir in education and psychology ever since An [..]
Each week the Dirty Dog Jazz Cafe hosts live performances from the greatest jazz musicians across the country.
The Four Freshmen
STARTS: Wed, July 25 2018
ENDS: Sat, July 28 2018
Tad Weed Trio
STARTS: Wed, August 01 2018
ENDS: Sat, August 04 2018
Detroit Jazzfest All Stars
STARTS: Wed, August 08 2018
ENDS: Sat, August 11 2018
Rayse Biggs
STARTS: Wed, August 15 2018
ENDS: Sat, August 18 2018
Nicole New
STARTS: Wed, August 22 2018
ENDS: Thu, August 23 2018
Freddy Cole
STARTS: Fri, August 24 2018
ENDS: Sat, August 25 2018
Closed For The Detroit Jazz Festival
STARTS: Tue, August 28 2018
ENDS: Tue, September 04 2018
Sean Dobbins
STARTS: Wed, September 05 2018
ENDS: Sat, September 08 2018
Kimmie Horne
STARTS: Wed, September 12 2018
ENDS: Sat, September 15 2018
Dave Bennett
STARTS: Wed, September 19 2018
ENDS: Sat, September 22 2018