RESERVATIONS: (313) 882-5299
Facebook
Instagram
Pinterest
Twitter
YouTube
Dirty Dog Jazz Cafe Logo
A Perfectly Tuned Evening Every Time...
Opened in 2008, The Dirty Dog is one of the premiere destinations in the United States for world class Jazz and cuisine. It combines the charm of an English-style pub with intimacy and meticulous attention to detail and hospitality.
THE DIRTY DOG JAZZ CAFE BLOG
The Dirty Dog brings together the musicians and guests in a way that creates a lasting impression and desire to come back.
July 9, 2018

 

DJF_BandBanner2_Update

 

Discovering New Jazz

 

After writing about new Jazz releases the past two weeks on our “JazzNotes” blog, it made me think about all of the musicians on the forefront who are keeping the idiom fresh with new sounds and ideas.

 

 

karriemRiggins

 

Detroit Jazz Drummer Karriem Riggins will be at the 2008 Detroit Jazz Festival

 

As we’ve mentioned in previous blog articles, Jazz must stay current while preserving its heritage. By staying current, it ensures Jazz’s future by constantly infusing itself with the newest sounds being created by Jazz artists around the world. Since the beginning Jazz has been able to avoid becoming stagnant and has, instead, grown with the times by reflecting current culture.  This is primarily done by the younger up and coming new and emerging artists who are usually close to the newest sounds and popular trends.

 

DMF2012_GayeLynn_Banner

 

Another stellar Detroit drummer, band leader,  and composer, GayeLynn McKinney, will also be at this year’s Detroit Jazz Festival

 

 

OmarSosa

 

Cuban pianist, composer and bandleader, Omar Sosa, will be at the 2018 Detroit Jazz Festival

 

One of the best places to discover new sounds in Jazz is at well programmed Jazz festival such as the Detroit Jazz Festival which takes place Labor Day weekend on various stages in downtown Detroit. Festivals of this kind offer the full-spectrum of Jazz styles.

 

 

Our world-renowned festival has been around since 1980 and it continues to be a showcase for veteran players and classic stylists as well as new trends and fresh talent. If you want to discover new Jazz, this is the place. It takes place August 31-September 3 and t’s free so you’re able to take in as much music as you like. You can stroll from stage to stage and get a good taste from a variety of styles whether you’re a seasoned fan or new to the music.

 

 

For more information on our festival, including the performance schedule, go to detroitjazzfest.org

 

 

 

 

Share This Article:

YouTube
Visit the Dirty Dog Jazz Channel on YouTube to view our collection of videos. Watch Now
The Dirty Dog brings together the musicians and guests in a way that creates a lasting impression and desire to come back.
My weekly blog, “Jazz Notes”, has been going strong now for four years! It was back in 2 [..]
  John Coltrane, “Both Directions at Once, the Lost Album” / Impulse (2018)    [..]
  BEING GRITTY   Grit has recently caused a stir in education and psychology ever since An [..]
Each week the Dirty Dog Jazz Cafe hosts live performances from the greatest jazz musicians across the country.
The Four Freshmen
STARTS: Wed, July 25 2018
ENDS: Sat, July 28 2018
Tad Weed Trio
STARTS: Wed, August 01 2018
ENDS: Sat, August 04 2018
Detroit Jazzfest All Stars
STARTS: Wed, August 08 2018
ENDS: Sat, August 11 2018
Rayse Biggs
STARTS: Wed, August 15 2018
ENDS: Sat, August 18 2018
Nicole New
STARTS: Wed, August 22 2018
ENDS: Thu, August 23 2018
Freddy Cole
STARTS: Fri, August 24 2018
ENDS: Sat, August 25 2018
Closed For The Detroit Jazz Festival
STARTS: Tue, August 28 2018
ENDS: Tue, September 04 2018
Sean Dobbins
STARTS: Wed, September 05 2018
ENDS: Sat, September 08 2018
Kimmie Horne
STARTS: Wed, September 12 2018
ENDS: Sat, September 15 2018
Dave Bennett
STARTS: Wed, September 19 2018
ENDS: Sat, September 22 2018